top of page

What Is Yoga?

I'm captivated by Yoga's ability to continually unravel the layers of attachment that bind us, offering surrender and freedom.


Yoga's evolution in the West has seen it transcend mere physical fitness to encompass holistic well-being. Across my 25 year journey with yoga, I've veered from and returned to the mat, grappled with defining my practice, and embraced personal accountability.

Through its wisdom, I have overcome obstacles and found profound insight and relief.

I am passionate about holding space for others to experience their own growth - body, mind, and soul.


"Yoga is not one particular method.

The moment one decides, 'I want to be a better person,'

that is the start of yoga."

-Baba Hari Dass

"Yogash citta vritti nirodhah."

Yoga is the cessation of thought waves in the mind.

~Sutra 1.2 from Patanjali's Yoga Sutras

Practices of Yoga include physical poses and movements (asana), breathwork (pranayama), chanting (mantra), meditation (dhyana),

self study (svadyaya), and selfless service (karma yoga), among many others.


The eight limbs of Classical Ashtanga (ashta = eight, anga = limb) Yoga (union) are:

1) Yamas - Ethical Restraints

2) Niyamas - Ethical Observances

3) Asana - Seat, physical postures

4) Pranayama - Breath control and expansion

5) Pratyahara - Sense Withdrawal

6) Dharana - Concentration

7) Dhyana - Continuous focus, Meditation

8) Samadhi - Absorbtion, Oneness, Pure Consciousness

"If you work on Yoga, Yoga will work on you."- Baba Hari Dass

bottom of page